Friday Yummy – Berry Terriffic Frozen Yogurt

20120707_230409
It’s been awhile, I know. I’ve been making stuff, but just haven’t been sharing. Not to worry, I have a lot to write up and schedule!

Back in April, Frank gifted me with an ice cream maker for my birthday. Yes, he picks presents off my Amazon list that he wants too. It’s alright. He does a good job.

You might know that it’s been hot in a lot of the country and I’ve wanted cold tasty treats so I decided to make us some frozen yogurt. It was way easy and fantastically delicious. Now, I like  tangy yogurt, if you don’t, find a different recipe.

First you want to read the directions for your maker and prep the machine accordingly. Then you follow these directions.

What you need:

  • An ice cream maker
  • Mixing bowl and spatula
  • 4 cups yogurt (I used plain Chobani)
  • 2 cups frozen berries (cherry and blueberry for us this time)
  • 1 TBSP Vanilla
  • 1/2 cup of Splenda (or sugar if you prefer, if you use sugar, make sure it’s dissolved before you mix it in or you’ll feel it in the texture of the final product)
  • Blender or small food processor (I used my Magic Bullet Blender, small cup)

Here’s what you do:

  1. Put cherries, vanilla, Splenda and a little water in the small cup and turn into slush with your blender. (I used 3/4  cup cherries, 1 1/2 cup blueberries – you can use whatever ratio you want.)
  2. Pour yogurt into mixing bowl, pour slush in too, pour rest of whole berries in and stir until well mixed.
  3. Following the directions for your mixer, put mixture in machine and wait. (Mine required that the mixing bowl be cooled in the freezer for 18 hours, the machine be assembled and mixing paddle in the bowl and the machine on before pouring yogurt mixture in as well. It took 20 minutes to mix and chill.)
  4. You can eat it now or put it in a container and freeze for a couple of hours.

I put it in the freezer while we ate dinner and did laundry then scooped it into a bowl and added some sprinkles. Sprinkles make me happy.

#fridaysyummy

This entry was posted in Friday Yummy. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Friday Yummy – Berry Terriffic Frozen Yogurt

  1. Amy says:

    That looks like one tasty batch of FroCHO! Nice work.

  2. Looks delish! As you know, I’m in the midst of a bit of a sweetness aversion at the moment, but at some point in the future I may ask if we can make some fro yo together. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Compilation of Yum | baking in my bathing suit

Have something to add?